Tax Assessor

Information & Requirements
  • 2012 Tax Rate: The 2012 tax rate is $2.44 per $100.00 of assessed value.
  • 2013 Equalization Ratio: The 2013 equalization ratio is 70.27%.
  • Added Assessment: Added assessment is an increase in assessed value for improvement to property completed after tax lists are prepared and billed separately in October with payment due November 1.
  • Building Permits: Inspections will be made when work is complete for the purpose of updating assessments.
  • Change of Billing Address: Please mail or fax a request to the tax assessor.
  • Chapter 91 Income and Expense Statements: Forms are mailed to owners of income- producing property each year and must be returned 45 days after mailing.
  • Deeds: A copy of a recorded deed can be obtained by calling the Tax Assessor’s Office or through the Morris County Clerk’s Office. Access the Morris County Clerk’s Public Search.
  • Demolition: Demolition of a dwelling not complete by January 1 will be taxable for the entire year. This includes property materially depreciated by fire or acts of nature as per Statute 54:4-35.1.
  • Farmland Exemption: Forms are mailed to farmland property owners by July 1 of each year.
  • New Owners: Property ownership cannot be changed until a recorded deed is received from the Morris County Clerk by the tax assessor. It usually takes four weeks from the date the deed is sent for recording.
  • Notice of Assessment Postcard: Each year by February 1, the postcard is mailed to each resident for the purpose of notifying them of their assessment for the calendar year. The purpose is not to verify the actual amount of taxes paid. Please contact the tax collector for more information by calling 973-326-7420.
  • Property Owners Within 200 Feet List Request: Please complete the form and mail or hand deliver to the Tax Assessor's Office with payment. The request will be available within seven working days.
  • Property Tax Relief Programs
    • New Jersey Senior "Freeze": The program is administered by the New Jersey Division of Taxation. Call 1-800-882-6597 for more information.
    • Senior Citizen Property Tax Deduction: The deduction is $250 per year. Income (including spouse's income) cannot exceed $10,000 per year, not including Social Security or federal, state, county, or municipal government pension. Please call the tax assessor for the claim form.
    • Veteran Property Tax Exemption: The exemption is $250 per year. Must have active wartime service and copy of Form DD214 (honorable discharge). Please call the tax assessor for the claim form.
  • Revaluation: Last township-wide revaluation went into effect for the 2001 tax year.
  • Tax Appeals: Tax appeal filing period is after January 1 and no later than April 1. View further information on tax appeals.
  • Tax Maps: Tax maps can be viewed in the Tax Assessor’s Office or on the Morris County website.
  • Zoning: The tax assessor will advise how property is assessed, but for actual interpretation, please contact the zoning officer at 973-326-7444.